World record marathon holder Eliud Kipchoge is among the five shortlisted athletes that will get to defend their title for the prestigious IAAF Male World Athlete of the year award. With just about 12 days to the award ceremony that will be held in Monaco, Kipchoge made the cut from a provisional list of 11 athletes.

Unfortunately Kipchoge’s compatriot Timothy Cheruiyot the world champion and Diamond League winner in the 1,500 m, was eliminated in the vote that was announced by the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) on Monday.

Kipchoge will be left to tussle it out with Uganda’s Joshua Chepetegei the 10,000m world champion, American duo Noah Lyles and Sam Kendricks who are the 200m and triple jump world champions respectively as well as world 400m champion Karsten Warholm from Norway.

A three-way voting process determined the finalists with the World Athletics Council and the World Athletics Family casting their votes by email, while fans voted online via IAAF social media platforms, the statement said.

“The Council’s vote counted for 50 per cent of the result, while the Athletics Family’s votes and the public votes each counted for 25 per cent of the final result ahead of the end of the voting process on November 4."

Next Event

Long Course NAT Championship
Venue-Aquatic Stadium
Dates-15-17th FEB

Events- KCB FC Football Match vs. SONY SUGAR FC Venue- Main STadium
Date -17th FEB

Venue- Laurets Gardens MISC
Date -16-17th FEB

About Us

Sports Kenya (SK) was founded through the Sports Act of January 25 2013 by an Act parliament as a successor to Sports Stadia Management Board and the department of Sports in the ministry of sports, culture and the arts.

Stay Connected on:



For general information about the event/sports/conference/entertainment, including registration, please contact us at:
 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
 +254 020 239 0500 / 2390501
 +254 (20) 211 3135
 Kasarani, Nairobi.